Seeing is Believing

On this Friday night, I took a seat on the corner of my couch in my basement. Most of you probably think the next thing written will be that I tuned in to some sporting event and this blog is my reaction. Well you would be wrong. As I sat on the couch, I yelled upstairs to my wife and son, “Well, ya comin?” The response I got from my wife was naturally “Where”? To which I replied, “To the North Pole, of course”!

My wife and son soon climbed on in. We were All Aboard The Polar Express. I pressed play on the DVD and the 3 of us had our first family movie night ever.

image

Growing up, Christmas was my favorite holiday. I loved Christmas Eve and I loved Christmas Day. Spending time with family was enjoyable and Santa delivering was always nice.

As I approached my teenage years, things changed and changed drastically. Obviously believing became less and less. And I cant even call it a family with one side of my family. As to not sugarcoat it and give my real feelings, I would rather eat dinner with Isis than with the one side of my family. And thats the truth. So my favorite holiday soon became a dreaded time of the year. I absolutely hated it.

As is life, funny and unexpected things happen. My wife was pregnant with our son and the due date was set for December 20th. December 20th came and went. Same with the 21st, then the 22nd, then the 23rd. Christmas Eve proved to be more of the same. At 12:00 on Christmas Day we walked into a hospital. Six hours and 41 minutes later, our Christmas gift entered the world.

My son had no idea what he getting involved in tonight when he sat on the couch for The Polar Express. And we had no idea how this idea of a movie night was going to play out. But the night was similar to trains, “it doesnt matter where they’re going. What matters is deciding to get on.” The night turned out to be fantastic and one of my favorite nights of the year.

image

Christmas is once again special. Christmas is once again my favorite holiday. “Seeing is believing, but sometimes the most real things in the world are things we cant see.” And maybe just maybe, the spirit of Christmas intervened and delivered me my greatest gift.

“Growing up I could hear the bell, but as years passed it fell silent for me. But as mentioned above, it once again rings for me, as it does for all who truly believe.”

Merry Christmas Season to All

image

Leave a Reply

