NFC Report Card

Recap of NFC Predictions from before the year:

NFC East

Philadelphia Eagles (6-2 1st place NFC East/ I predicted 1st place)
Where I was right- didn’t have a preview
Where I was wrong-
Where they are going- Its all in the hands of Mark Sanchez. They must cut down on turnovers if they want to play deep into January

Dallas Cowboys- (6-3 2nd place NFC East/ I predicted 4th place)
Where I was right- Completely wrong on this team
Where I was wrong- I thought they would struggle on defense but to date they have been solid
Where they are going- Health concerns for Tony Romo and can Demarco Murray stay healthy? If the answers are yes, they will be a playoff team. The defense is starting to leak oil

New York Giants (3-5 3rd place in NFC East/ I predicted 3rd place)
Where I was right- I thought it would be much like last year. The lack of running back and Eli getting accustomed to new offense would lead to struggles
Where I was wrong-
Where they are going- Headed towards another .500 season if they are lucky. Injuries have certainly hurt this team

Washington Bravehearts (3-6 4th place NFC East/ I predicted 2nd place)
Where I was right- Jay Gruden would help with this offense
Where I was wrong- RG3 staying healthy
Where they are going- Hope to ontinue to progress and keep RG3 healthy

NFC North
Detriot Lions (6-2 1st place/ I predicted 3rd)
Where I was right- Jim Schwarz no longer the coach
Where I was wrong- Defensive struggles. This has been one of the best defenses in the league
Where they are going- They are competing for the division and definitely have their name in the Wild Card race. Or will we see another collapse??

Green Bay Packers (5-3 2nd place/ I predicted 1st)
Where I was right- Its easy to say but Aaron Rodgers is elite. The loss of BJ Raji would hurt
Where I was wrong- I thought Eddie Lacy would be more productive
Where they are going- They are in a dog fight with Detriot but have to feel confident with Aaron Rodgers in their corner

Minnesota Vikings (4-5 3rd place/ I predicted 4th)
Where I was right- Adrian Peterson would hit a wall- unfortunately not the way I expected
Where I was wrong-
Where they are going- They will play spoiler for some teams down the stretch.

Chicago Bears (3-5 4th place/ I predicted 2nd)
Where I was right- They have good offensive weapons
Where I was wrong- That this team could compete for the division
Where they are going- This team is on the verge of complete combustion. Have to expect changes at the end of year

NFC South
New Orleans Saints (4-4 1st place/ I predicted 1st)
Where I was right- Brees and Payton are still a great combo. The Saints are tough to beat in the dome.
Where I was wrong- I thought the schedule would allow for 12 wins. They dropped a few winnable games early.
Where they are going- They seem to be gaining momentum and are in position to take control of the division. Without a hot finish, they will be forced to go on road in playoffs if they are going to go deep

Carolina Panthers (3-5-1 2nd place/ I predicted 4th)
Where I was right- Cam Newton would struggle.
Where I was wrong- The defense would be very good. Although injuries and suspensions have hurt
Where they are going- A make or break game Monday night @ Philly. Win there and they stay alive. Loss and they will be playing out the string

Atlanta Falcons (2-6 3rd place/ I predicted 3rd)
Where I was right- Mike Smith is a fraud.
Where I was wrong-
Where they are going- searching for a new coach

Tampa Bay Bucs (1-7 4th place/ I predicted 2nd)
Where I was right- nowhere!!!!
Where I was wrong- everywhere!!!
Where they are going- Top pick in the draft

NFC West
Arizona Cardinals (7-1 1st place/ I predicted 4th)
Where I was right- They would face injuries
Where I was wrong- The injuries wouldn’t matter and Carson Palmer would be terrible
Where they are going- They are in line for the top seed in the NFC

Seattle Seahawks (5-3 2nd place/ I predicted 1st)
Where I was right- Marshawn Lynch would struggle and there were whispers about Russell Wilson in the locker room
Where I was wrong- The defense would dominate
Where they are going- Its anyones guess. I still think they are a dangerous team but there is certainly some chaos right now

San Francisco 49ers (4-4 3rd place/ I predicted 3rd)
Where I was right – Navarro Bowman injury would be costly. I thought they would take a step back.
Where I was wrong
Where they are going- This team seems like its going to miss the playoffs and be in search of a new coach

St Louis Rams (3-5 4th place/ I predicted 4th)
Where I was right- The defensive line is good
Where I was wrong- Shaun Hill could keep the ship afloat
Where they are going- They are slowly building but the division is so difficult

Playoff Predictions prior to the year:
Wild Card Round
Saints over 49ers
Packers over Bears

Divisional Round
Eagles over Saints
Seahawks over Packers

NFC Championship
Seahawks over Eagles

NFC Champion
Seahawks

Leave a Reply

