AFC Report Card

Just past the halfway point in the NFL Season, I am going to take a look back to my previews to go over where I was right and where I was wrong and where we are going the second half of the year.

AFC East
New England Patriots (7-2- 1st in AFC East/ I predicted 1st)
What I was right about:
I thought the Patriots would have there best team since the year they flirted with perfection, mostly because of the upgrades on defense. They have sustained some injuries on the defensive side of the ball but have played lights out defensively.
What I was wrong about: Nothing, but its easy to make predictions when you are examining Brady and Bellicheck
Where they are going:
Next week they have a bye week to get ready for a brutal portion of the schedule. The next 5= @ Colts, Lions, @ Packers, @ Chargers, Dolphins. That 5 game stretch will determine where this team will go. It certainly helps that Gronk looks healthy again

Miami Dolphins (5-3- 2nd AFC East/ I predicted 2nd)
What I said prior to the season:
Upgrade on the offensive line will help. They couldnt keep Tannehill upright last year and have done a pretty good job thus far. I questioned the linebackers and for the most part they have held their own.
Where they are going:
I thought they had a chance to be in the wild card hunt and they are. If Tannehill continues to progress as he has the last 3 weeks, they could be playing in January

New York Jets (1-8- 4th in AFC East/ I predicted 3rd)
I questioned if this was Rex’s last stand. It appears this would be it. I thought Geno Smith sucked and he does. I thought Mike Vick would be playing and he is.
What I was wrong about: I thought there defense would be better than it is.
Where they are going: Searching for a new coach and a top 5 pick

Buffalo Bills (5-3 2nd in AFC East/ I predicted 4th)
What I was right about- Sammy Watkins would help the offense. The defense would be good.
What I wrong about- I thought Sammy Watkins would help EJ Manuels growth. He may, but it wont be this year. I thought they would be the worst team in this division
Where they are going: A manageable second half schedule has the Buffalo Bills in the wild card hunt.

AFC North
Cincinnati Bengals (5-2-1 1st in AFC North/ I predicted 1st)
What I was right about: Marvin Lewis continuing to do a decent job in the regular season. Questionable decision to give the Red Rifle an big contract.
What I was wrong about: Questionable decision to give Red Rifle a big contract
Where they are going: This team should make the playoffs again but they will not be judged until the playoffs

Pittsburgh Steelers (6-3- 2nd in AFC North/ I predicted 2nd)
What I was right about: A healthy Pouncey will keep Big Ben relatively healthy. If the defense stays healthy they can make a run at the division which they have thus far
What I was wrong about: The draft picks would have a bigger impact than they have had
Where they are going: It appears they have an easier schedule than the Bengals to close the year. Health is the major question mark still

Cleveland Browns (5-3- 3rd in AFC North/ I predicted 4th)
What I was right about: The offense will be hard to watch which at times it is. Joe Banner is a clown
What I was wrong about: Brian Hoyer’s effectiveness. I thought the defense would be better
Where they are going: The rest of the schedule is not impossible but the offense lacks enough firepower to get the Wagon into the playoffs.

Baltimore Ravens (5-4- 4th in AFC North/ I predicted 3rd)
What I was right about: The organization is classless
I didnt give an objective opinion as I cant. I hate this team so much
Where they are going: Hopefully contraction

AFC South
Indianapolis Colts (5-3- 1st in AFC South/ I predicted 1st)
What I was right about: There have been various opinions about Andy Luck but I still think he is very good. I thought the wide receiver weapons would be good. TY Hilton has been very good
What I wrong about: The running game. Ahmed Bradshaw has been a nice pickup and Trent Richardson has actually been spotted. The defense ha splayed better than I imagined it could
Where they are going: Another division win and a chance to host possibly 2 playoff games with the weak second half schedule.

Houston Texans (4-5- 2nd in AFC South/ I predicted 3rd)
What I was right about: I was not sure Bill Obrien could progress Ryan Fitzpatrick enough to make the playoffs. I thought that OBrien could hang his hat on the D line. I thought an 8-8 season was on the horizon
What I was wrong about: I thought Bill Obrien could hang his hat on the D line as a while. Its been all because of JJ Watt. I thought Tom Savage would be taking snaps by now
Where they are going: They are staring down an 8-8 season certainly better than the 2-14 campaign in 2013.

Tennessee Titans (2-6- 3rd in AFC South/ I predicted 2nd)
What I was right about: Kendall Wright emerging as a wide receiver
What I was wrong about: Just about everything. I thought Whisenhunt would make Locker a good qb. I thought this would be a surprise team who may even challenge for division
Where they are going: In search of a qb. This is a bad team

Jacksonville Jaguars (1-8- 4th in AFC South/ I predicted 4th)
What I was right about: The Jags fans would enjoy those new pools. Blake Bortles taking the reins
What I was wrong about: They would progress with wins after looking better late last year. I thought the Jags fans would wear bathing suits in the pool
Where they are going: I still think they are headed in the right direction. They are a couple pieces away. Hopefully they let Gus Bradley see this through.

AFC West
Denver Broncos (6-2 1st in AFC West/ I predicted 2nd)
What I was right about: Upgraded defense. A good regular season.
What I was wrong about: To early to tell
Where they are going: A favorable second half schedule should allow them to secure home field throughout which I do believe is key for Denver

Kansas City Chiefs (5-3 2nd in AFC West/ I predicted 3rd)
What I was right about: Andy Reid not needing wide receivers (I will take the credit, even though I was being sarcastic)
What I was wrong about: That they were in for a disastrous year
Where they are going: ??? They have a tough second half schedule, they could be in the hunt for the playoffs or be scouting college prospects early.

San Diego Chargers (5-4 3rd in AFC West/ I predicted 1st)
What I was right about: They have a tough schedule early. Mike McCoy is a great coach. They have had some injuries to the o line and running back and McCoy has kept them a float.
What I was wrong about: Its going to be tough for this team to win this division.
Where they are going: I still think this is a playoff team and a team that can go deep, but they need to get healthy and an easier second half schedule should allow them a chance in the tournament

Oakland Raiders (0-8 4th in AFC West/ I predicted 4th)
What I was right about: This team is garbage
Where they are going: Hopefully with Baltimore- contraction

My playoff predictions in the AFC prior to the year:
Wild Card Round:
Broncos over Steelers
Colts over Bengals

Divisional Round
Patriots over Colts
Chargers over Broncos

AFC Championship
Chargers over Patriots

AFC Champion
San Diego Chargers

Leave a Reply

