The Boss

Happy 65th to The Boss.

In honor of #65, below is my fantasy concert of the 65 songs I would pay anything to hear you sing. You played for 3 hours and 40 minutes the last time I saw you, so why not add another 3-4 hours to give me my wish.
I have heard most of these in the dozen or so shows I have seen you, but I am always longing for one more time.

In no particular order………
(some pictures taken from second row of last show at Spectrum by me and wife)

Bruce 4

1. Blinded By The Light- First song of the first album. Only fitting its first here.
“Take a right at light, keep goin straight until night, and then boy you’re on your own”

2. Growin Up- “I had a jukebox graduate for first mate, she couldn’t sail but she sure could sing”

3. Spirit in the Night- one of my favorite live songs
“We danced all night to a soul fairy band and she kissed me just right, like only a lonely angel can”

4. Its Hard To Be A Saint in The City-
“I could walk like Brando right into the sun Then dance just like a Cassanova”

5. Incident on 57th Street- Have heard different live versions of this and both fantastic
“You can leave me tonight, but just don’t leave me alone”

6. Rosalita- Classic Encore song
“Were gonna play some pool, skip some school, act real cool, stay out all night, its gonna feel alright”

Cant leave off any song from The album that put Springsteen on the map:
7. Thunder Road
“Well I got this guitar and I learned how to make it talk”

8. Tenth Avenue Freeze Out- The story of the band
“When the change was made up town and the Big Man joined the band.. From the coastline to the city all the little pretties raise their hands”

Bruce 3

9. Night
“Til you’re out on a midnight run, losing your heart to a beautiful one”

10. Backstreets- My all time favorite. Live version gives me the chills every time.
“Trying to learn to walk like the heroes we thought we had to be Well after all this time to find were just like all the rest”

Bruce 5

11. Born To Run- not much has to be said
“Tramps like us, Baby we were Born To Run”

12. Shes the One
“With her hands on her hips Oh and that smile on her lips Because she knows that it kills me”

13. Meeting Across the River- must be played before Jungleland
“Change your shirt cause tonight we got style”

14. Jungleland- Clarence sax at the end of this song is some of the best 3-5 minutes of the whole Springsteen collection
“Together they take a stab at romance and disappear down Flamingo Lane”

One of the Greatest Albums Ever!

15. Badlands
“Poor man wanna be rich, Rich man wanna be king, And a king aint satisfied til he rules everything

16. Something in the Night
“You’re born with nothing, and better off that way”

17. Promised Land
“Working all day in my daddy’s garage Driving all night chasing some mirage Pretty soon little girl Im gonna take charge

18. Prove it All Night- older version has an amazing intro
“They made their choices and they’ll never know, What it means to steal to cheat, to lie, What its like to live and die”

19. Darkness on the Edge of Town- The Boss claims this is one of if not his favorite song
“Everybody’s got a secret Sonny, Something they just cant face, Some folks spend their whole lives trying to keep it, They carry it with them every step that they take”

20. Ties That Bind-
“Youre so afraid of being somebodys fool Not walkin tough baby Not walkin cool”

21. Sherry Darling- fun song
“Well I got some beer and the highways free And I got you and baby you’ve got me”

22. Two Hearts
“Someday your crying girl will end and youll find once again two hearts are better than one”

23. Hungry Heart- Boss crowdsurfing is a must
“Like a river that don’t know where its flowing I took a wrong turn and I just kept going”

24. Out in the Street
“Put on your best dress baby And darling fix your hair up right”

Bruce 2

25. The River- great story he tells in live version from the live 75-85 cd
“Is a dream a lie if it don’t come true”

26. Point Blank
“You just stood there and held me, then you started dancing slow And as I pulled you tighter I swore Id never let you go”

27. Cadillac Ranch
“Hey little girlie in the blue jeans so tight Drivin alone through the Wisconsin night Youre my last love baby you’re my last chance”

28. Price You Pay
“You make up your mind, you choose the chance you take”

29. Atlantic City- Bruce called it 30 years ago AC would come crashing down….but maybe someday it comes back
“Well now everything dies baby that’s a fact. But maybe everything that dies someday comes back”

30. Downbound Train
“The room was dark our bed was empty then I heard that long whistle whine And I dropped to my knees, hung my head and cried”

31. Im on Fire- love this music video
“Hey little girl is your daddy home Did he go and leave you all alone I got a bad desire”

32. Bobby Jean- Will always remind me of high school
“We told each other that we were the wildest, the wildest things wed ever seen”

33. No Surrender
“We learned more from a 3 minute record than we ever learned in school”

34. Im Goin Down- College Classic
“I remember back when we started My kisses turn you inside out”

35. Dancing in the Dark- Courtney Cox getting on stage is a must
“Ill shake this world off my shoulders come on baby this laughs on me”

36. Because the Night- Live with Nils Lofgren solo is the best
“What I got I have earned What Im not I have learned”

37. Brilliant Disguise- the first Springsteen RECORD (yes a 45 record) I had contained 2 songs….this and Dancing in the Dark
“I want to know if its you I don’t trust Cause I damn sure don’t trust myself”

38. Blood Brothers- played this as emotional tribute to Phantom Dan Federici
“We stood side by side each one fightin for the other We said until we died wed always be blood brothers”

39. Streets of Philadelphia- written for the movie Philadelphia
“Aint no angel gonaa greet me. Its just you and I my friend”

40. Seaside Bar Song- always reminds of being down the shore
“Theres something bout a pretty girl on a sweet summer night that gets this boy excited”

41. Thundercrack
“Thundercrack, Babys back”

42. My Love Will Not Let You Down
“I keep searchin for you darling searchin everywhere I go. And when I find you theres gonna be just one thing you gotta know”

43. The Promise- song gets better everytime I hear it
“All my life I fought the fight The fight you cant win”

44. Land of Hope and Dreams- another song that gets better every time
“This train carries saints and sinners This train carries losers and winners This train carries whores and gambler This train carries lost souls This train dreams will not be thwarted This train faith will be rewarded”

45. Lonesome Day
“Once I thought I knew Everything I needed to know about you”

46.The Rising- emotional every time I hear it. Always evokes the emotion of 9/11
“Come on up for the rising Come on up lay your hands in mine”

47. My City of Ruins- last time I saw him was a dedication and video tribute to Clarence
“My soul is lost my friend Tell me how do I begin again”

48. Radio Nowhere
“I want a thousand guitars I want pounding drums”

49. Born in the USA- the first Bruce song I ever heard
“Born down in a dead mans town”

50. Girls in Their Summer Clothes
“Loves a fools dance I aint got much sense but I still got my feet”

51. Long Walk Home- version with Stevie Van Zandt singing at end is the best
“Son were lucky in this town Its a beautiful place to be born It just wraps its arms around you nobody crowds you and nobody goes it alone”

52. Kingdom of Days
“When I count my blessings and youre mine for always We laughed beneath the covers and count the wrinkles and grays”

53. Shackled and Drawn
“Gray morning light splits through the shade Another day older closer to the grave”

54. Rocky Ground- has to be version with Michelle Moore
“You raise your children and you teach them to walk straight and sure”

55. Wrecking Ball- always will remind me of the Spectrum
“Now when all this steel and these stories, they drift away to rust. And all your youth and beauty its been given to the dust. And your game has been decided, and youre burning the clock down And all our little victories and glories have turned into parking lots”

Bruce 1

56. New York City Serenade- rare live play but special when it is
“Hey baby wont you take my hand walk with me down Broadway”

57. Racing In the Street-
“We only run for the money got no strings attached We shut em up and then we shut em down”

58. My Hometown- always takes you back to growing up
“Last night I sat him up behind the wheel and said son take a good look around This is your Hometown”

59. Walk Like a Man-
“All I can think of is being five years old following behind you at the beach Tracing your footprints in the sand Trying to walk like a man”

60. This Hard Land
“Well if you cant make it stay hard, stay hungry, stay alive”

61. Youngstown
“When I die I don’t want no part of heaven I would not do heavens work well”

62. Darlington County
“Hey little girl standing on the corner Todays your lucky day for sure all right”

63. Does This Bus Stop at 82nd Street
“Hey bus driver keep the change, bless your children give them names”

64. Better Days
“I got a new suit of clothes a pretty red rose and woman I can call my friend”

65. If I Should Fall Behind- so many memorable nights with my wife at Springsteen. Song automatically makes me think of her
“If as were walkin a hand should slip free Ill wait for you And if I fall behind wait for me”

HAPPY BIRTHDAY BRUCE!!! HOPE TO DO THIS AGAIN AT 75

Leave a Reply

